What is the penalty for DUI in Alabama?
As in most other states, Alabama imposes progressively stiffer penalties on repeat DUI offenders, as follows:
A First DUI offense is charged as a misdemeanor, and upon conviction the defendant may be confined for up to 365 days in the county or municipal jail and may be compelled to pay a fine between $600.00 and $2,100.00. The defendant will also be ordered to attend a court approved substance abuse program and will suffer a 90-day driver's license suspension.
A Second DUI offense is still charged as a misdemeanor, but if the date of conviction is within 5 years after the first conviction, the penalties are enhanced. In that situation the defendant faces a jail term of no less than five days and up to 365 days in the county or municipal jail. In lieu of the five day mandatory jail term, the Court may permit the defendant to perform 30 days of community service. The fine on a Second Conviction within five years is between $1,100.00 and $5,100.00, and his or her driver's license will be revoked for one year. The defendant will also be required to attend a court ordered treatment program.
A Third DUI offense within five (5) years is still charged as a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the defendant will be sentenced to no less than 60 days and no more than 365 days in the county or municipal jail, and must pay a fine between $2,100.00 and $10,100.00. His or her driver's license will be revoked for 3 years, and he or she must complete a court ordered alcohol treatment program.
A Fourth (or subsequent) DUI offense within five (5) years is charged as a Class C felony. The sentence on a felony DUI conviction is imprisonment for no less than one year and one day and no more than 10 years. The fine is fixed between $4,100.00 and $10,100.00, the defendant's driver's license is revoked for 5 years, and he or she must complete a court approved substance program.
If you or a loved one has been arrested and accused of a drunk driving related crime and require the immediate professional services and trusted legal advice of an experienced criminal defense lawyer, please contact The Law Offices of John T. Kirk & Matthew B. Alfreds today at 334-264-1498, or use the contact form provided on this site to schedule your initial consultation.